Australia and India dominate the team of ODI World Cup tournament

Players from five teams have been named in this ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Team of the Tournament. Champions Australia, runners-up India, semi-finalists South Africa and New Zealand as well as Sri Lanka star in an impressive line up.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell and spinner Adam Zampa, who led Australia to a record sixth win, have been included. KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah are among the six Indian stars selected along with leading run scorers Kohli and Sharma as well as leading wicket-taker Mohammed Shami.

The selection panel included Ian Bishop, Cass Nayudu, Shane Watson (commentator), Wasim Khan (ICC general manager, cricket) and Sunil Vaidya (journalist, Ahmedabad Mirror).

The ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 squad is (in batting order):

  1. Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) – 594 runs at 59.40
  2. Rohit Sharma (Captain) (India) – 597 runs at 54.27
  3. Virat Kohli (India) – 765 runs at 95.62
  4. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) – 552 runs at 69
  5. KL Rahul (India) – 452 runs at 75.33
  6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 55
  7. Ravindra Jadeja (India) – 120 runs at an average of 40 and 16 wickets at an average of 24.87
  8. Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 20 wickets at 18.65
  9. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) – 21 wickets for 25 wickets
  10. Adam Zampa (Australia) – 23 wickets at 22.39
  11. Mohammed Shami (India) – 24 wickets at 10.70

12th Player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 20 wickets at 19.80

Named in the team of the tournament for the second consecutive 50-over World Cup, Sharma set the tone for India at the top of the order.

The experienced opener left behind a disappointing opening performance against Australia by scoring a blistering 131 runs in just 84 balls and won the Player of the Match award against Afghanistan.

He backed this up by top-scoring with 86 in a crucial win over arch-rivals Pakistan, and thereafter crossed 40 on all occasions except one, including the final against Australia.

Creating history in his final days as an ODI player, retiring Quinton de Kock signed off in style as he partnered him at the top of the order.

The South African became the first wicketkeeper in World Cup history to cross the 500-run mark and take 20 dismissals in a single tournament.

His performance with the gloves was just one short of Adam Gilchrist’s record of 21 centuries in the 2003 tournament, while he was just one short of Sharma’s record of five centuries in the same tournament, as de Kock scored four centuries for the Proteas. Were planted. Semi-finals.

Completing the top-order is Kohli, who topped the run-scoring charts, as he did at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 12 months ago.

Kohli scored 765 runs at an average of 95.62, breaking the previous record of Sachin Tendulkar, who had scored 673 runs during the 2003 edition.

Kohli’s best performance came in the semi-final win over New Zealand when his 117 and third century of the tournament took India to the final for the first time in 12 years.

Batting at No. 4 is Mitchell, who scored two centuries against India in his first 50-over World Cup.

The prolific Kiwi scored 130 in the round robin against the Men in Blue and 134 in the semi-final, taking his final score to 552.

India’s Rahul is ranked fifth after scoring several important innings throughout the tournament as well as a century in the routine win over the Netherlands.

Rahul top scored for India in the final with 66 runs but it proved to be in vain as the hosts were prevented from scoring by an inspired Australian team.

At number 6 is all-rounder Maxwell, who scored the winning run in the final to give Australia its sixth title.

Maxwell scored 106 off 44 balls against the Netherlands in the round robin to score the fastest century in the World Cup, the 309-run victory margin becoming the largest in the history of the tournament.

He was equally effective against Afghanistan, putting up the only fight and scoring an unbeaten inning of 201 to ensure Australia’s place in the semi-finals.

India’s Jadeja is the second all-rounder after impressing with the ball, especially against South Africa when he became the second Indian spinner after Yuvraj Singh to take a five-wicket haul in an ODI World Cup.

Three days later, Jadeja created another history by taking two wickets against Netherlands as he overtook Singh and Anil Kumble for most wickets by an Indian spinner in a World Cup.

Like teammate and opening batsman Sharma, Bumrah has been included in his second consecutive World Cup after taking 20 wickets, two more than he had in 2019.

Bumrah, always a threat with the new ball, took the early wickets of Australia’s Mitchell Marsh and Steven Smith as India threatened to stage a dramatic comeback in the final.

At number 9 is budding Sri Lankan superstar Madushanka, who made his mark on the world stage by taking five wickets for 80 runs against India.

By that stage, the left-arm pacer had already impressed with four wickets against Netherlands, three against Australia and two each against Pakistan and South Africa and finished third in terms of wickets taken.

Zampa is at number 10 after taking 23 wickets in the entire tournament and defeating the best batsmen in the world.

He took four wickets in three consecutive matches against Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Netherlands, and only remained blank in the semi-final against South Africa.

And after taking the wicket of Bumrah in the final, spinner Zampa equaled Muttiah Muralitharan’s record of 23 wickets in a World Cup.

Completing the line-up is Shami, who recorded the best figures of any bowler in a World Cup knockout game after taking seven wickets in the win over New Zealand in the semi-final.

That performance helped Shami top the wicket charts after impressive performances against New Zealand (5/54) ​​and Sri Lanka (5/18).

and 12th That man is Gerald Coetzee, who took wickets in every match he played in his ICC tournament debut.

Coetzee emerged as a major force in the Proteas team following injuries to Anrich Nortje and Sisanda Magala with 20 wickets in eight matches as he became the leading wicket-taker for South Africa in a single edition of the World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *